Self Help 101- Edaurdo Jones

Posted: November 7, 2010 in Edaurdo Jones, philosophy
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today is no different than yesterday. It’s what you decide to do with it, which will make it different. The cosmos is not out to destroy you, and make you miserable. It is you, and you alone, who makes your misery. Thirty four and one half years, is all it took for me to discover this. I spent a great deal of my life making excuses for myself. It was always someone else’s fault. Nothing I ever did, could possibly have anything to do with the situations, I found myself in.  This is selfish immature thought at its ugliest.

I still have friends with this mentality, no matter what is going on in their life, they find something to complain about, and it’s always somebody else’s fault. I wonder when they will grow up. I wonder when they will realize there is no one to blame, but themselves, for all of their misery.

Life only gets better, when you own your responsibilities in it. Each person is in charge of their own destiny, and happiness. I have a very hard time comprehending why it is so difficult for some people to grasp this concept.  I suppose it’s because, it is far easier to point a finger at someone else, than it is to point it at yourself.

I’ve made many a poor decision in my life, given my heart to bleach- blonde-wanna-be-models-with barmaid hands and rugged burned knees, only to have them tear it from chest, and stomp it under stiletto heels, before my tear filled eyes. I’ve sold drugs, made thousands of dollars, and had it all taken away in a blink of an eye. Went from living in a luxury loft, to sleeping in the gutter, so fast it made my head spin. I always blamed it on somebody else. But, nobody ever held a gun to my head, and said “Do it mother fucker, or I’m painting the ceiling with your brain matter.”

The minute I started owning responsibility for my misery, my life started getting better. I am not an extremely religious person, but the phrase “God only helps those, who help themselves” is extremely true. We are all our own Gods. We control our happiness and our misery, no one else. The decisions you make decide your fate.

You can’t find happiness from anything, or anyone, but yourself. No matter where you search, you will only find it in yourself. If you are not happy with yourself, nothing will ever be able to make you happy. This is the law of the universe.

It’s a very simple philosophy, which is very hard to follow. I won’t go on and on. I just felt like writing today. I felt like writing something different. It can’t all be doom. There is a brighter side to life. You just have to make the decision to see it, and own responsibility for all your misery, that’s the key to happiness.

Comments
  1. Jennifer Verbois says:

    You continue to amaze me with the things you write. Today’s post is a welcome slap in the face for me and a great way to start off the new week.

Leave a Reply

