Quest- Murphy Clamrod

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Murphy Clamrod, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

Quest
by Murphy Clamrod

I’ve searched for poetry
looking everywhere

I’ve searched for poetry
in the libraries
in the hall of university
in the back alley of bar room

I’ve searched for poetry
in the jails
in the courthouses
in countless waiting rooms

I’ve searched for poetry
in the wee hours of future
in the waning hours of past
in the cracks of time between

I’ve searched for poetry
in the noise of busy night club
in the solitude of empty park bench
in the anger of many unpaid landlords

I have searched for poetry
at the bottom of beer can after beer
can after beer can after beer can in
full.. half.. empty packs of cigarettes
and plenty of poor & well rolled joints

I’ve searched for poetry
in the stalls of Port Authority
in the lines of South Station
in the bleachers of Fenway
in the fields of Hershey
in the view of Blue Ridge
in the tan-lines of South Beach

I’ve searched for poetry
in the winning of a jackpot
in the greeting of a diner waitress
in the thin crust of a hand-tossed pie
in the stare of the homeless
in a fresh cup of coffee
in a well oiled .45

I’ve searched for poetry
looking everywhere
& there it was

Comments
  1. Narnie says:

    Caught my eye. I like it when that happens. Thank you.

  2. You Rock Murphy!!! Love this piece… you inspire the hell out of me !!!

Leave a Reply

